Thank Meow…You

Happy Sunday everyone! Thanks for being so patient while I located my camera cord. It’s now in a safe spot so I wont lose it again…well I mean…we’ll see.

Anyways, today I have my cat thank you cards to share with you! I made a sympathy card at a friend’s request, and after I made it I saw the potential for a much brighter and cheery variation of the card.

Here’s the original card.

untitledI couldn’t get this card out of my mind, so I knew I had to recreate it. Does anyone else ever get like that? I also saw the opportunity to do a fun shaker card.

I decided to make four of these because I’m still behind on sending out some thank you cards. (Yes, I’m that procrastinator) I made use of my Lil Inkers stitched circle dies for the card base, shaker window, and double stitched border. I love these dies, but somehow forget to use them more regularly.

asfsdf

I used a trick that Kristina Werner showed in a recent video for round shaker cards. It was AMAZINGHere’s a link to the video she posted so you can check it out your self, but I’ll give you a quick run down of the tip she shared. To make your foam more flexible for the round corners, you double it up and then remove the backing. Once the backing is removed you shape it around the border of your shaker card. It’s so simple, and makes life so much easier!

1.23.2016 018w

I used distress ink and created the background with the mini round ink blending tools. I used 2-3 colors per card. Once I finished blending I spritzed them with water to get the bleached looking splatters you see. That is one of my favorite techniques. I created the hearts with the same technique, blending Spun Sugar, Picked Raspberry and Festive Berries. They’re all die cut using the Lawn Fawn Stitched Party Banner’s heart die.

newwww

I stamped the cat from My Favorite Thing’s I Knead You stamp set, and the word many using  Lawn Fawn’s Smitty’s ABCs and then glued it to the distress ink background. I cut out the word thanks from Mama Elephant’s Inline Letter dies and glued them to the clear acetate window.

1.23.2016 007w

Before closing the window I added sequin mixes from Little Things by Lucy’s Cards. I love the depth of size and shape she has in her mixes! As you probably can tell the static was a bit crazy, so they’re sequin pieces everywhere!

 

That’s it for today! Tuesday I’ll have another fun Mint Owl Studio post for you, this time with a few cards featured. I hope you guys are having a great weekend!

What are your thoughts on this post?

