Happy Birthday

Hi everyone! It’s been busy around here lately. It was my mom’s birthday on the first and I’m only just getting around to posting the card I made for her. Well, actually it’s two cards but I’ll get into that.

The first card I made wasn’t a flop, but as my sister said, “it’s not really mom.” So even though this isn’t the card we gave to her I thought you might like to see it.

vnvnvEven though this card wasn’t really my mom’s style, I still thought it might be perfect for someone else. So it’s going into my stash for that day when I’m in a pinch and need a card for someone!

 

 

untitledwgsggfjf

Building off of this card, I knew I could make something that was better suited for my mom on her special day. Step one was change it from a dog to a cat, and step two was bumping up the color.

 

dhdhfMaking the sky blue and giving the cat more grass to sit on really made the card brighter. I did my favorite technique, using Distress Inks to create a bleached & spotty look. The cards both feature My Favorite Things stamp sets. The dog set being Top Dog and the cat set being Cat-itude. The sweet heart dies that are above the cat are Simon Says Stamp Mini Hearts Dies.

Here’s a closer look.

untitledfgkhgkcc

Both cards are great, but I tend to like the more colorful one a bit more. My mom loved it.

It’s almost the weekend! What crafty projects are you guys working on this weekend? I’m going to be scrambling to get my Valentine’s done and mailed!

What are your thoughts on this post?

