Uncategorized

12 Days of Designers!

Good morning, everyone! I’m so excited to share my card with you all today because I am part of Honey Bee Stamps 12 Designers of Christmas! If you haven’t seen the first three posts you should definitely head over to the Honey Bee blog and check them out. Today I’m using the sets Special Delivery and Happy Mail to make a fun card.

0111

I used one of my favorite techniques to make this bright and fun card. I used the adorable outline die from the Happy Mail die set to cut out a ton of little envelopes to cover my card. I cut out about a dozen of them and laid them over my card panel, which was die cut from a stitched rectangle die . I didn’t glue them until I was sure I liked how they were spaced. Once I was happy with them I used my Multi Medium Matte to glue them down. Then I cut off any of the parts that hung over the edge of my card. One thing you want to make sure to do-especially if you’re going to ink blend like I did here-was to add a little glue to any of the die cuts that are close to the edge. The ones that got trimmed because they hung over the edge may need a little extra glue to make sure they don’t pull up when you use your blender over them.


I saved all the little hearts that were cut from the envelopes and glued them down as well in the empty spaces. Next I grabbed my Peacock Feathers, Scattered Straw and Worn Lipstick Distress Ink and my mini ink blenders. I started with Worn Lipstick at the bottom and blended it about 1/3 of the way up the card panel. When I started blending the Scattered Straw I made sure to start overlapping the Worn Lipstick. This creates a orange color when they blend which is so pretty. It’s also a great way to stretch the colors you have. I did the same with the Peacock Feathers to create a green color between it and the Scattered Straw. When I was finished with that I sprayed water droplets over the ink and let it sit for about 20 seconds. Then I dabbed it up with a paper towel. I love the distressed/bleached look this creates.

0061

I waited until everything was completely dry to do the next step. I took the adorable paperclip stamp from the Special Delivery set and stamped it in VersaMark ink in any empty spaces left. Then I used silver embossing powder to heat emboss them. I love the pop of metallic shimmer with the bright colors.


Finally, to create my sentiment, I took some of the words from the Special Delivery set to create my own saying. The nice thing about this set is that you could really use it for a lot of different occasions. I went with a general sentiment so that I could use it for many different occasions. I stamped these words and the little trio of hearts on a piece of water color card stock using VersaMark embossing ink. Then I added some white embossing powder and heat set them with my heat gun. I took out my mini ink blender again, and this time used Black Soot to color the paper. I could have used black card stock, but I wanted the inked paper to match the inked background. I cut the words apart using my scissors and attached them to the card base with foam tape to make them stand out a little more.

And the card is finished! I hope you liked my contribution to the 12 Designers of Christmas. If you liked either the Special Delivery  stamps and dies :

hbst08_-_special_delivery-01__11006-1475264582-1280-1280

or the Happy Mail stamps & dies:

HBST12_-_Happy_Mail-01__67702.1475264132.1280.1280.jpg

be sure to head over to Honey Bee stamps because they are on sale today as part of the 12 Designers of Christmas deal!! Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂 I’ll see you again soon with another card!

What are your thoughts on this post?

