YNS Challenge

Hello, everyone and happy Friday! I don’t know about you guys, but I’m so happy it’s the weekend. This week has been crazy, and it’s just about time I sit back and relax at my craft table.

Today I’m sharing a card I made for the Your Next Stamp Challenge that started today on their blog. There is a sketch challenge as well as a color challenge. I felt inspired by the color challenge and went with it. Here’s the inspiration photo

color-55

And here’s the card I came up with…

003I really struggled getting this card together. And then, all of the sudden, it all came together! Isn’t it funny how that happens sometimes? I started by cutting down a piece of kraft card stock. I die cut the Circles-Stitching Marks dies in the far left center of the panel. I used them to create more of a base for the images I would be adding later.

Next I cut out a panel of Bristol Smooth paper. I made it just long enough to fit a little image from the Love Birds set as well as a sentiment. I stamped the bird in the cup with a waterproof ink because I knew I wanted to use my Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers with it. I stamped the sentiment in VersaMark and heat embossed some gray embossing powder over it. In the pictures the gray looks very dark, however it fits the color combo so well in real life. I finished the panel by coloring it with my Zigs and adding some texture by splattering some water to get water spots.

013ff

I die cut the hearts from the Scripty Love die set to be attached to the card as well as the ‘thanks’ from the Scripty Words die set. I ended up die cutting four white ‘thanks’ and one out of some brown glitter paper. I glued them all together to create a cute embellishment to add to the card. I offset the glitter paper a little so that it looked like it had a little bit of a shadow with the white pieces.

The next step was to put everything together! I added the bird and sentiment panel with foam tape. The hearts were also popped up where they hung off of the rectangle piece.

014

After everything was attached I added some white gel pen details. I added polka dots to the tea cup as well as some white faux splatters around the hearts. I attached the panel to a card base and the card was finished!

I hope you enjoyed this card! Be sure to stop over at the YNS blog and enter to win a $15 gift certificate to Your Next Stamp. All of the details on how to enter are overt there, plus a lot more inspiration with projects by other Design Team members.

Thanks for stopping by, and I’ll see you again soon with another card!

What are your thoughts on this post?

