Design Team Dare–YNS

Good morning! Happy Wednesday 🙂 It’s time for a design team dare for Your Next Stamp. Today our theme was to use the new Gumdrops from the release. I love the Gumdrops that YNS makes. They come is SO many colors, and can be used on just about any type of project. Plus they are a little more flat than some embellishments, so it makes them easier to mail!

004

I started by die cutting the Butterfly Border Die from some white card stock. Next I picked out some Distress Inks that would somewhat match the Gumdrops the best. The Hearts and Dots Gumdrops I used are such bright fun colors that it wasn’t difficult to find colors that were similar. I used Picked Raspberry, Shaded Lilac, Salty Ocean and Scattered Straw. Carefully, I used my ink blender to add color to the butterflies. I spritzed it with water mixed with pearl powder. It gave it a shimmery look, and added some textured spots. I layer the color butterflies over three other butterfly borders I die cut to give it some depth.

006

I die cut two panels from some more white card stock. I didn’t want anything to compete with the butterflies or gumdrops. I layered the smaller panel at an angle over the bigger one. I added the butterfly piece with foam tape so that when I added the gumdrops they would easily tuck under them.

001

I added my gumdrops all over the front of the card. I mixed where I put the gumdrops and put some on each the big and small die cut pieces. I tried my best to make them balanced in some way, making sure one side wasn’t too heavy. Finally, I stamped the ‘happy birthday’ sentiment from Waddles Fortune Teller set in VersaMark ink and heat embossed gold embossing powder over it! I thought it was a great pop of metallic for the card.

That’s it for my card today! I hope you enjoyed this look. There are a ton of awesome projects over on the YNS blog. I was seriously inspired by the projects my fellow design team members came up with, and will be following their examples in future cards! Thank you for stopping by!

What are your thoughts on this post?

