Uncategorized

May Inspiration Day

Welcome back for my second card today! It’s May Inspiration Day over at Your Next Stamp and the design team all made a card inspired by a famous painting. There’s a lot of fun projects over on their blog. Let’s get to mine.

The painting I took inspiration from was Van Gogh’s Sunflower painting. The fun thing about this challenge is the fact that you can pull any part of the painting to use in your card. I really liked the flowers and the warm colors of the painting, so that’s what I took from it for my card.

140

I started by using a stencil to make some thick strips on a card base. I used Worn Lipstick and Fossilized Amber Distress Oxide Ink. I spritzed the paper with water to lift some of the color.

142

I die cut the three flowers from the Flower Blossom Trio Die from Kraft card stock. I arranged them on the upper half of the card base. Then I stamped the sentiment “just because” from the Sweet Little Greetings set  in one of the white strips in VersaFine Onxy Black ink and used clear embossing powder to give it a raised smooth look. To finish the card I added some of the Crystal Clear and Sparkle Gumdrops to the center of the flowers.

And that was  it for this card! I love the idea of looking to other types of art to gain inspiration for card designs. I think this is something I’ll do in the future to help when I’m in a creative slump. Thank you so much for stopping by today! Be sure to head over to the Your Next Stamp blog and comment to get a chance to win a prize. I’ll see you again soon with another card!

One thought on “May Inspiration Day

What are your thoughts on this post?

